VIEW THE LATEST NEWS
Order Now or Call Toll Free 877.271.3570
Let's get social

P.O. Box 5387
Lancaster, PA 17606,
877.271.3570

SITEMAP

©Copyright 2015-19 all rights reserved Medtrition, Inc.
site design by Groft Design
programming by 1 SkyMedia

How can we list milk as an ingredient yet claim it is ‘lactose-free’?

Many of our liquid proteins labels state “Contains: Milk” yet we also claim they are lactose free. This is because the FDA’s Allergen guidelines cause some confusion as they require the warning “Contains: Milk” when specific ingredients found in milk are present and not just the whole milk ingredient.

Milk consists of many different parts including casein proteins, whey proteins and several different types of carbohydrates such as lactose, glucose, galactose, and other oligosaccharides, however not all of them contain lactose. In the case of our liquid proteins, we use Whey Isolate, a lactose free milk ingredient. So while the statement “Contains: Milk” is consistent with FDA Guidelines, it is also consistent with the Lactose Free claim.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

If you found this post useful why not subscribe to our blog and be the first to know about product launches and important information that can help you in your facility.